Baltic Sea Award 2011 – Call for Nominations

in News

You are welcome to nominate candidates for the Baltic Sea Award 2011.

The Baltic Sea Award is an annual award of Baltic Development Forum for extraordinary contributions to the development of the Baltic Sea Region. The award was established in 2007. This time it is distributed for the 5th consecutive year.

The winner of the Baltic Sea Award 2011 will be announced at the BDF gala dinner at Grand Hotel in Sopot on 24 October during the Baltic Development Forum Summit in Gdansk, Poland.

Apart from the honor the honor, the Baltic Sea Award consists of 5000 Euro and a diploma.

Election Criterias

The Baltic Sea Award is assigned to individuals or organisations that have fulfilled one or several of the following criteria:

Individuals or organisations from Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Russia and Sweden are eligible.

Previous Award Winners and Sponsors

Halonen BSA winner 2008In 2007-2009 the Baltic Sea Award was sponsored by Swedbank and given to Björn Carlsson founder of the project Baltic Sea 2020 (2007), Ms. Tarja Halonen, president of Finland (2008), and Ms. Arminta Saladziene, Chairman of the Management Board of NASDAQ OMX Vilnius, as well as of the Executive Committee of the Baltic Institute of Corporate Governance (2009). In 2010 the Baltic Sea Award was sponsored by the Danish Industry Foundation and given to Cruise Baltic, a network of 27 cruise destinations in the Baltic Sea uniting ten countries.

Nomination Procedure

Send your nominations of candidates by e-mail to the Baltic Development Forum secretariat at Please write “Nomination Baltic Sea Award 2011” in the subject line. Deadline: Monday 10 October 2011.

Baltic Sea Award 2009 on Times Square